Kale Chips

ImageA surplus of overwintered and flowering kale means I have a surplus of delicious kale chips about to be made. I modified a recipe I found on the whole food’s website to use what I had on hand – my primary cooking strategy.

Image

Not everything is pictured here, but the main recipe goes as such:

2 lbs kale – torn into 1″-2″ pieces

1 Green bell pepper – roasted and peeled

1 c almonds, soaked for an hour

1/2 c nutritional yeast

1/3 c rice milk

4 cloves garlic (I used early volunteer garlic that I pulled from around the farm and included the greens as well as the bulbs – ended up using about 1/2 lb)

1 scallion

1 T lemon juice

1/4 t sea salt

Combine all of the ingredients, except the kale, in a food processor and blitz until a uniform paste. Toss the kale with the sauce and spread on a cookie sheet prepared with parchment paper. Bake at 250 F for about 3 hours, turning over half way through.

ImageI became very impatient with the oven (which is also incredibly filthy) and wasn’t entirely satisfied with the texture so I switched over to my dehydrator and left it at 125F overnight and was very pleased with how the chips turned out. Crunchy, cheezy, and gone before I ever got a chance to take pictures. I will have to make way more chips if I plan on having this snack added to my winter-food stash.

What’s your favorite way to prepare kale?

 

Leave a Reply

