Last look at the garden

 

Here I am smiling in the garden about a week before we had to leave it. I’m smiling because I had no idea I’d have to leave it.

I left behind my fat momma spider who was about to lay her eggs! She had been munching down on grasshoppers and helping me out all summer.

A prolific sweet potato harvest I won’t be able to dig up. Most disappointing thing about leaving the garden behind is the harvest I won’t be able to collect. The beans, kale, onions, garlic, potatoes, broccoli, peas…

I guess this is the same lesson that has to be learned by all gardeners – things happen that you can’t predict. Too much rain, not enough rain, freak freezes, sudden relocations. Things happen.

 

Leave a Reply

