Swallowtail Butterfly

My dill is crawling with caterpillars. I know the caterpillars belong to the swallowtail family. I’ve seen two different kinds of caterpillars and was surprised to learn that they both belong to the swallowtail family. The caterpillars above I believe belong to the short-tailed swallowtail or Papilio brevicauda.

They’ll wreck your dill, fennel, and parsley in no time if you let them. I really enjoy watching them grow and seeing the butterflies so I usually plant way more thank I need. The other species is the Pipevine swallowtail – I was a little confused because it looked a little like a ladybug larvae but it turns out it belongs to the swallowtail. The adults of this species enjoys lantana as a source of nectar and I’m afraid that the pipevine parent was a little confused about where she laid her eggs.

Once again, wikipedia helped me out with identifying.

Leave a Reply

