Saving Seeds

This is the first year I’ve started to save seeds. So far I’ve harvested broccoli, radish, and soybeans. The flowers in the garden are beautiful to see and are so delicate it’s amazing to think about the potential they hold.

Image

radishes are flowering – easter egg variety

I’m a little worried that the broccoli and the radish were too close together for the seeds to be pure enough to germinate and produce true to the strain.

Image

broccoli being visited by a honey bee from the neighbor

So far the seeds I’ve harvested and the few I’ve tested have all germinated. I’ll be starting seedlings from this batch of seeds as well a variety called Waltham 29 I’ve been told does well in our climate. The broccoli the seeds came from were particularly productive so if all goes well I’ll have a decent broccoli harvest.

Leave a Reply

